Standard Cartridge Series - 7mm Remington Magnum

Started by Jay Edward (deceased), November 01, 2004, 06:13:52 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Jay Edward (deceased)

Like the .270 Winchester, this cartridge really needs no introduction.  It is a fine cartridge and much admired by North American big game hunters.  I still would like to point out the information shown on the .280 Remington/7mm Express thread...as you know, I feel that cartridge is a good 'balance' between the .270 Winchester and the 7mm Remington Magnum. But as a long range big game cartridge, I feel that this cartridge might be a good starting point.

Daryl (deceased)

:)

One of my favorites!  My load for the 145 gr Speer BTSP and Grand Slams is the same as that listed for the 140 gr bullet.  I've taken elk, mule deer, whitetails, antelope, bear, and even coyotes and a few p-dogs with mine.

I've been using that rifle since about 1987 so I know it's capabilities and limitations well, but when it booms, some unfortunate critter generally falls down without getting back up.  It's as ugly as sin with it's matte blued finish and black synthetic stock (Browning A-bolt), but it's great for a rifle that's used hard in rough, rocky, thorny country.  It's not the biggest I've used, nor the smallest, but it works!

Daryl
A government that abrogates any of the Bill of Rights, with or without majoritarian approval, forever acts illegitimately, becomes tyrannical, and loses the moral right to govern-Jeffrey Snyder

RIP Linden33

gitano