Pheasant hunting

Started by Hunterbug, November 25, 2018, 08:21:23 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Hunterbug

Our pheasant season started in the 10th and so far I have been out four times. This is Rebel's first season and his progress has been amazing. I am pretty new to pheasant hunting so this has been a learning experience for me too. The first trip we saw nothing. Rebel wanted to run around like crazy. He finally settled and started hunting but there were no birds to be found. The second trip ended with no birds seen but netted a nice whitetail buck. The third trip we saw about 10 birds but no shots or birds. This brings us to yesterday. My buddy invited us to go with him on his family's property. We must have seen 100 birds. Most flushed out of range but we ended up with 6 birds for 6 hunters. We also missed a lot. The wind came up around noon and trying to hit a bird that has a 25mph tail wind is challenging. But Payton managed to bag one. Rebel worked hard and is really starting to get it. I am looking forward to Gitano coming out in a few weeks.
Ask not what your government can do for you. Ask how your government can go away and get out of your life.

The unarmed man is is not only defenseless, he is also contemptible.
Niccolo Machiavelli

sakorick

Talk to yourself. There are times you need expert advice.

Hunterbug

Here's the buck from our third trip. The car in front of us hit it and we grabbed it. There was some meat lost but we still got a good amount. We are the tenderloins that night at Karl's house and they were really good.
Ask not what your government can do for you. Ask how your government can go away and get out of your life.

Niccolo Machiavelli

Hunterbug

Quote from: sakorickExcellent!

Thanx. I'm doing a lot of scouting for when you guys come out.

Niccolo Machiavelli

Jamie.270

Holy cow y'all!  That's some FLAT country ya got there!

Good job on the birds.
A good bird dog is entertaining when there's birds, even when nothing gets bagged.