Nice to be back - big changes

Started by kombi1976, June 28, 2023, 08:10:47 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

kombi1976

In the time I've been away from THL my life has been changed a lot and has definitely not been dull. 

As many of you may know, I'm a high school music teacher in rural NSW. It's not a career I've really enjoyed for about a decade. Things came to a head at the end of 2019 after a couple of bad years. I was a candidate for the Shooters, Fishers & Farmers Party in the state election in March 2019 - something I really enjoyed - and then went to China with my eldest son as he represented Australia in a non-native Chinese speaking competition, only a week or so before COVID hit! I arrived back from China in early November, looked at the problems in the school I was teaching and decided I had to have a change. 

So I took a year's leave without pay in 2020 and did casual primary (elementary) school teaching instead. My stress level plummeted immediately and really enjoyed the much less complicated nature of younger students in the 2 primary schools I was working. Kindergarten was very fun and my morale and mental health I was able to recover. Interestingly, despite the fact lockdown put most staff at home I still was working a few days a week and I enjoyed the relaxed routine during this period, as well as creating music and science-related short vids to post on the school's Facebook page for students to watch. I halved my income and we cut through our savings but my wife launched an interior design in the second half of the year (in the middle of the pandemic, no less!) which has gone from strength to strength.