Teen Outdoorsman

Started by Jay Edward (deceased), May 21, 2008, 08:18:20 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Jay Edward (deceased)

By Dylan le Roux (13)

I have been shooting with a traditional bow for two years, and have always          toyed with the idea of shooting a buck. My dream was rekindled when my          older cousins (Niekie, Barry and Jan-Louis) invited me on my first hunt          during the July holidays.

I couldn't believe my ears; I was going on my first hunt. Before          I knew it we had arrived at the farm and were being warmly welcomed by          everyone. After a good supper we went to bed (which didn't come          easy)
        Early the next morning Niekie took me on a walk-and-stalk. We began          stalking some impala about 150 metres away. As we closed the gap to about          60 metres, some blesbok and more impala arrived and we found ourselves          surrounded. One of the animals was about 40 metres away, but as Niekie          drew his compound we were busted and the herd scattered. Later we returned          to camp for lunch.

After lunch, Greg (Niekie's friend) drove me down to one of the          hides on the farm. I had nothing to do in the hide, so I sat around for          almost four hours disassembling and assembling my broadheads to prevent          myself from falling asleep. As I looked up I saw a herd of about six blesbok          22 metres away. My heart started to pound. Was this it?
        One of the blesbok with rather good-looking horns stepped forward, offering          me an almost perfect broadside shot. At that moment time seemed to stand          still and I thought, it's now or never. I decided it would be now.          I drew my 45-pound Impala Recurve nocked with an Eastern Excel arrow tipped          with a 90-grain Game Getter broadhead and sent it on its way.