Do you keep both eyes open when shooting?

Started by babbyc1000, December 14, 2006, 04:10:18 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

babbyc1000

hi all, bit of a funny question this.

i was talking to a guy today about snooting, and the conversation got round to closing one eye to shoot when using a shotgun or ironsights (not a scope). he was trying to tell me that by only using one eye you are far more accurate than using both, whereas i always figured that both eyes give you more depth perception, which in my book helps when judging a shot.

just wondering what everyone else does!

sorry poll doesnt seem to be working at the mo, sure just say what you do and ill try to fix it!
Dont worry, I have a cunning plan...

Daryl (deceased)

I used to shoot with 2 eyes open.

Then I started shooting with a scope sight, and the off eye being open was more than I could handle.  Now I pretty much shoot with one eye closed, just out of habit.

Many times when shooting handguns I shoot with both eyes open, though I'll oft-times squint a bit with the off eye.

Daryl
A government that abrogates any of the Bill of Rights, with or without majoritarian approval, forever acts illegitimately, becomes tyrannical, and loses the moral right to govern-Jeffrey Snyder

RIP Linden33

Allen

Both eyes open with hand guns, long guns with iron sights or with a scope. Its the way I learned to shoot and I think it helps me witha quicker second shot.

Allen

Jay Edward (deceased)

I keep both eyes open as the 'master eye' takes over and I have no problems.  It is my understanding that flexing the face muscles to close one eye can have an effect on your shooting.  For this reason, among some, there is a clip on eye shield so that you can train your master eye.

m gardner

I keep both open when shooting right handed because my right eye is my master eye. When I shoot left handed I must shut my right eye to get a good sight picture. Except when shooting a handgun lefty because the right eye works fine then.