Reloading vs Factory

Started by trapper500, August 26, 2007, 06:46:51 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

trapper500

thats like compairing apples& oranges ive been reloading for 20 years for all of my guns & ive saved a bundle of money .Even if reloading did cost more than factory ammo i would still do it just for the accuarate results i get over factory ammo .I just loaded 100 rds for my .500 Taurus RB 10" SS thats over $200 of factory shells. it cost me a bit extra because i had to buy the dies & loading block for this monster but i only have to buy bullets,powder& primers now :)

RatherBHuntin

Yep, you may not save much money loading .270 Win with Power Points, but as soon as you start getting exotic the savings will show.

Of course all that is regardless of accuracy and ballistics that you really wan't instead of taking what you can get.
Glenn

"Politics is supposed to be the world\'s second oldest profession.  I have come to realize that it bears a very close resemblance to the first."
Ronald Reagan

kombi1976

Here in Oz ANY loading is a saving.
I was working out the savings the other day and I pay almost 1/2 price for the rounds I use much of the time.
On top of that, what would be premium ammo normally costs me the same or less than standard ammo.
When you spend a fair bit of time at the range like I do you run through a fair bit of ammo.
I couldn't afford to do it with factory.
Plus loading for 303/25, 8x57JS and 25-20 the ammo is either rare as hens teeth(the first), anaemic and underpowered(the second) or does not exploit the nature of the rifle(the third - it's a single shot and can use spitzers).
So all in all, it's a much better deal.
And that's not even getting into the whole carthartic nature of the passtime or the "don't have to wait for the shops to open" if you run out.
Cheers & God Bless
22lr ~ 22 Hornet ~ 25-20 ~ 303/25 ~ 7mm-08 ~ 303 British ~ 310 Cadet ~ 9.3x62 ~ 450/400 N.E. 3"

gitano