More fish

Started by sakorick, February 10, 2019, 07:35:29 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

sakorick

We got into the Channel Cat yesterday.....11 of them 4 to 6 pounds + 23 Crappie and Bluegill. No fishing today...it's snowing again.

Talk to yourself. There are times you need expert advice.

gitano

Crappie and catfish. Two of my very favorite things to eat!

Paul
Be nicer than necessary.

sakorick

The Minnesota collection doesn't like Catfish......good for me!!

gitano

Some people claim (rightly so on occasion), that catfish taste "muddy". They blame the taste on them being "bottom feeders". Both assumptions are wrong. 1st, catfish aren't "bottom feeders". In fact, they're not particularly fond of "dead" stuff, but will eat just about anything IF live critters aren't available. I have kept catfish (and many other fish) in aquaria (I am a fisheries scientist after all), and catfish are more voracious predators than largemouth bass, and just as voracious as pike. 2nd, the "muddy" taste is actually caused by a molecule (geosmin), produced by the bacteria in the body of water in which the catfish are caught. It's not a issue that is confined to catfish. One of the lakes near me has the bacteria, and the rainbow trout from that lake taste terrible because of it. Furthermore, humans are particularly sensitive to tasting geosmin, and, as a rule, do NOT like the taste. By the way, the "earthy" taste of beets is caused by geosmin.

As you noted, more catfish for you!

Paul
Be nicer than necessary.

Jamie.270