Greetings from a complete newb :))

Started by ShootinPeter, September 25, 2013, 12:32:31 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

ShootinPeter

Yorkshire Dales, England.
Not UK, not Britain, ENGLAND!
I feel about my country the way you US guys feel about America ;)

I'm getting on a bit in life but before I fade away I want to do some deer hunting.
Nothing as big as Moose or Reds, just Roe, Muntjak and Water deer.

At this moment I'm trying to resolve a home load problem with a Ruger M77 Mk II with an 18" barrel.
I don't know if you have mimimum ft/lbs muzzle energy in the US but here it's pretty stringent.

I've done a fair bit of shooting in my life, firstly in the Air Force weaned with the glorious SLR ( Enfield L1A1 SLR aka FN FAL originally) such a shame we cannot now use in England.  Also quite a lot of .22 target pistol - have some medals to prove it somewhere.
Then onto trap shooting for several years .. 12 bore.

Recently got back into rifle shooting - .22 for rabbits, 7.62 (308) for range and .243 for hunting.

thehunterslife comes highly recommended for common sense advice. I look forward to joining in.

Pete
"I became aware of somebody coughing softly at my side, like a respectful sheep trying to catch the attention of its shepherd" P.G. Wodehouse :bowdown:(Thank you, Jeeves)

j0e_bl0ggs (deceased)

Welcome Pete, you will find much useful advise here sans ego!
Paul is already primed on the 18" problem!
Turvey Stalking
Learn from the Limeys or the Canucks, or the Aussies, or the Kiwis, or the...
                   "The ONLY reason to register a firearm is for future confiscation - How can it serve ANY other purpose?"

Jamie.270

Welcome Pete!

Contrary to popular belief, we're not all a bunch of Jingoes on the west shore o' the pond.
But I for one, am glad you came to talk about guns and hunting first!
QuoteRestrictive gun laws that leave good people helpless, don\'t have the power to render bad people harmless.

To believe otherwise is folly. --  Me